University of Zagreb, Croatia

The University of Zagreb is the oldest Croatian university, and also the oldest university in South-Eastern European. Emperor and King Leopold I Habsburg officially founded the university on September 23rd, 1669. The modern University of Zagreb is founded in 1874. Since 1874, more than 200.000 students have graduated and more than 8.000 candidates have received Ph.D. degree at University of Zagreb. Today, University of Zagreb consists of 33 organizational parts (faculties, academies etc.) with 60.000 students. It is one of the biggest Universities in this part of Europe and it covers most of the areas of academic interest.

One of its faculties, the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture (FAMENA) was founded in Zagreb in 1967 as an union of High Technical School founded in 1919, and Technical Faculty founded in 1926.

The teaching and research activities that are conducted at the FAMENA cover wide areas of mechanical engineering, naval architecture and aerospace engineering. The Faculty stuff participates in numerous research and industrial projects, supported by various scientific funds and industrial partners, disseminating expertise and know-how in engineering community. Since 1924 more then 10.000 students have graduated at Technical Faculty and later the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture. Today, FAMENA teaching staff includes 100 Professors and 120 research assistants, assistant professors and technical collaborators.

Here, it can be mentioned that Prof. Stjepan Prokofijevič Timošenko (Stephen Timoshenko) held professor position at University of Zagreb in period 1920-1922. During his stay, he founded Department of Applied Mechanics at the University (today Institute of Applied Mechanics at FAMENA). Prof. Fran Bošnjaković served as Dean of Technical Faculty at University of Zagreb in period 1940-1943 and held professor position from 1937 to 1945.